THEN WHO AM I???????

cana

I am the woman selling shoes and socks.
I am the one
you buried alive in the wall
and thus became guiltless as the breeze is.
You did not know
that bricks and mortars cannot bury voices.
I am the same
whom you buried under lots of customs.
You did not know
that light never fears darkness
I am she
from whose lap you took flowers,
and returned thorns and embers.
You did not know
that fragrances cannot be arrested.
I am she whom you bought and sold
In the name of my modesty.
You did not know
that floating on a clay pitcher even Sohni cannot die..
I am she
whose hand you gave away
to unburden yourself.
You did not know
that a nation cannot be awaken
while its mind is still enslaved.
You traded me for my chastity and modesty
for my fidelity,my precious and motherly love.
But now is the time of the flowers in the lap.
I am selling shoes and socks…But I AM NOT THE HALF CLAD WOMAN ON THE POSTER ANYMORE.
THEN WHO AM I???????
ZAIRA KHAN

Leave a Reply

